Having a yellow baby

My new yellow dining chairs and matching yellow Outie Splat Mat.

My new yellow dining chairs and matching yellow Outie Splat Mat.

Pregnant women often talk about cravings for food.

Odd flavours and food combinations are needed at odd times and this has been well documented.

For me, with this pregnancy, I want yellow.

I am having colour cravings.

I just want yellow.

I have tried researching ‘colour associations with pregnancy’ and I cannot come up with anything. For some reason I just seem to be strongly drawn to this colour over all other colours and it has come about only since becoming pregnant.

So far I have bought a new yellow wallet, yellow dining chairs, yellow nail varnish, a yellow phone cover and, of course,  I am on the lookout for yellow things to dress the new baby in.

Little highlighter yellow onesie for the tummy nugget?

Little highlighter yellow onesie for the tummy nugget?

But why yellow? Yellow has connotations of Summer, happiness, brightness, enlightenment, optimism… (as well as old-fashioned gender neutrality).

(All good little baby. No pressure.)

Yellow

I have been drawing yellow flowers… and Kowhai flowers (native NZ tree) keep reappearing in my latest drawings and fabric designs.

Recent fabric design using native NZ Kowhai as repeat.

Recent fabric design using native NZ Kowhai as repeat.

This recently commissioned Morepork nursery print even has Kowhai, a yellow stripe and yellow skate wheels added.

Custom nursery drawing for Kimberley from my other project Desk Drawer (complete with YELLOW skate wheels and more Kowhai...)

Custom nursery drawing for Kimberley from my other project Desk Drawer (complete with YELLOW skate wheels and more Kowhai…)

I think if ‘yellow’ was an acceptable name for an infant – I would happily use that name. I have even researched ‘yellow’ names for the little sprout – but so far nothing sticks.

Dr Seuss would have something to say about yellow babies.

Dr Seuss would have something to say about yellow babies.
And if I have a girl... www.laulipopsshop.co.nz

And if I have a girl…
http://www.laulipopsshop.co.nz

I don’t know if I am having a boy or a girl. But it is definitely a yellow one.

And I might even have to throw a yellow party to celebrate…

Chevron table runner for a yellow party?

Chevron table runner for a yellow party?

So just for fun – I have included some of the yellow things that have caught my eye lately. I feel like I have a sunshine kid in my tummy and that is worth celebrating with some splashes of colour.

My new yellow dining chairs and matching yellow Outie Splat Mat.

My new yellow dining chairs and matching yellow Outie Splat Mat.
Giant yellow ducky!

Giant yellow ducky!

Have you ever experienced a strong colour association with a person?

Have you ever had a ‘colour craving’ in pregnancy?

What do you think of the colour yellow?

Love Outie.

http://www.outie.co.nz

Add your comment!

