I want to break free! A song for new mummies (and a must-read for new daddies).

Here at Outie, we are all about having fun. But we also happily address the ‘messy bits’ of parenting too. So here’s a song for all the new mummies who might be feeling a little, erm, trapped and overwhelmed by the extremely demanding, tiring (yet also extremely rewarding and amazing!) role of Mummy.

 

Sing it mummies (to the well-known tune by Queen):

 

I want time for me

and to be a great mummy

I want to break free from your cries

You keep me so occupied

And I just fed you.

I just need time for me.

Dad knows (or at least he should), Dad knows

I need time for me.

 

I’m going cray-zee

I’ve become a Mum for the first time

I’m tired and things feel surreal

even though I’ve fallen in love.

Yet God knows, God knows

I want to make tea.

 

It’s strange but it’s true

I can’t get over the way you need me like you do

So I have to find time

Before turning to wines

Oh how I need time for me, baby

Oh how mummy needs some sleep

Oh how I just need time for me.

 

But life still goes on

I can’t get used to living with a, living with a, living with a baby

by my side

I don’t want to put you back, hon

Got to make it on our own

But baby can’t you see

I’m a very tired mummy.

 

I need time for me,

I’m not super mummy,

Yeah,

I want, I want, I want to __________  ____________  (make tea/get sleep/break free).

 

 

Listen up daddies! Make sure mummy gets a break and always say thank you for the smallest things. Those small things make a big difference.

 

Mucho aroha to all new mummies who need to ‘break free’.

 

Like my post? Please VOTE for me in the Baby View Best in Home Business Awards (We’ve been nominated for best parenting blog!)

 

Love Outie.

 

XXX

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I want to break free! A song for new mummies (and a must-read for new daddies).

Add your comment!

