Ten Easy Indoor Activities for Toddlers

I love hanging out with my kids and I especially love coming up with new things to do. 

Here is a little list of my recent favourite indoor activities to keep my toddler busy.

These ideas are brought to you by the Outie Splat Mat.

 

1) Washi tape shapes on the floor

I made a square, a triangle and a star on the floor using washi tape. My son knows the words for triangle and star but hasn’t yet recognised squares – so the teacher in me wanted to give him a new shape to practise saying and the square is THERE on the floor so we keep using the word as we pass it now.

We ran across them and shouted the names of the shapes as we stepped on them.

We jumped in them.

While he ate his lunch, he directed me to hop from one shape to another.

We put his toys in them.

We talked about ‘inside’ and ‘outside’ the shapes.

We hopped in them.

We sat in them.

He even chose to eat his lunch inside the triangle.

August 1270

 

2) Matching shapes

This is an extension to the washi tape shape idea. Cut shapes from card or draw pictures with the shapes in them. (I.e. a house could have a square AND a triangle in it) and put the cards into the right shape as a giant sorting activity.

 

3) Indoor bowling

You don’t need a bowling pin set to have fun bowling down structures. You can make towers with blocks to bowl down. I like to use my son’s stacking robots to set out like pins then we roll balls at them to try to knock them over.

 

4) Toddler petanque

I made some simple bean bags with lentils in them out of some scraps of fabric. Here’s some instructions (they are fun to juggle with too). Put plastic tea cups out as targets and try to throw the bean bags into the cups or onto the saucers. We can play the same game using toys as targets and rolling balls to them. A teacup and saucer stack (make sure they are plastic) is super fun to throw things at to try to knock it down too.

 

5) Indoor painting

Use a Splat Mat for this one. Squirt paint onto the paper or Splat Mat and let your toddler smoosh it with their hands. Have an old towel handy for the inevitable spills…

 

6) Bath painting

Add food colouring to shaving foam and take your painting into the bath. (This is a personal favourite because he can paint at my feet and I can have a long shower).

August 076 August 077

 

7. Baking/Breaking/Mashing

I love making weetbix slice with mister two because he gets the job of crumbling the weetbix (use a bowl and sit them down on a Splat Mat) and my second favourite is banana muffins (he gets the potato masher and loves mashing the banana).

 

8) Button Banking

I made a piggy bank out of an old pop bottle with papier mache and I give my son the piggy bank and a jar of buttons to ‘bank’. (The nose unscrews so he can start again).

Tip 15 trash to treasure

 

9) Santa sack

This is a great activity for keep toddlers ‘busy’ while you change the sheets. Simply wrap toddler up and carry over your shoulder like a mad santa… I recommend a strong sheet for this one as my toddler likes to be swung about and you need to be sure that they won’t fall out.

 

10) Kitchen Drum Kit

This is an oldie but a goodie. Sometimes when I am stuck for things to do I ask myself, what would my Grandma do? Tin cups, chipsticks, wooden spoons and whisks with metal bowls or saucepans are a nice and easy noisy play solution.

 

We have loads more ideas for fun play but ten is a good number to start with. What are your fun play ideas?

Like this post? Please follow us by clicking the link on the right.

 

Love Outie.

 

 

 

 

Add your comment!

